How long it has been?

*blows off dust* Cough Cough

Well, let’s try this again, shall we?

I’ve been rather active on my social media in the last few months, and I thought maybe, just maybe, I might give this blog thing another try.

I am currently undergoing a severe weight loss program and have lost 40 pounds! I thought about creating a new blog and page specifically for that weight loss and the health journey my family on, but then that’s not really all I am. I am losing weight. That’s great. My family will soon* be joining me on the health and diet change.  (* I’m not eating real food yet, I’ll post another blog about what I am eating currently on my weight loss journey, and they are still eating the same old junk as before. October 23rd will begin my transition to food again, and so my family will all be getting a diet overhaul as well.) But that’s not all there is. I craft. I still enjoy cooking and baking. I am “Mom” to THREE kids (last I posted I only had two haha)! I am homeschooling the Goddess. I have started homeschooling Shakespeare. And, well, My Smallest is a handful at 19 months of age. So, why create a new blog when I still have this one that still works well for my lifestyle and family?

Now, time to catch up.
The Goddess is almost 8 now. She grew her hair out super long over the last few years and decided to chop it all off in May and donate it. Now it’s turquoise and sassy, just like her. We’re still homeschooling through our public charter. I changed things up this year curriculum wise and any struggles we have had seem to be gone. Our CT (certified teacher) thinks that this is mostly due to her being in 2nd grade and having a few years of homeschooling under her belt, but I think it’s greatly in part due to the fact that we switched our style up. She is now using a program that is made up of videos of an actual teacher teaching the lessons, instead of me trying to lead and teach her the subjects. The change in attitude is incredible with the switch. Hopefully this year continues to be productive.

Last year she played baseball and I was so very proud. Hers was an all girl team in the regular baseball league, not softball! They did very well considering many of the girls were either 1st or 2nd timers. She wants to play again this coming spring.

She picked up a bunch of crafts and skills this summer. She can now ride her bike without training wheels! She makes dinner with minimal supervision at least twice a week. She is also following in her mama, Grandma and Mimi’s footsteps and has started sewing! She received a sewing machine for Christmas last year and this summer finally made her very first quilt! I couldn’t be prouder!

 

Shakespeare is growing like a weed. He’s barely 8″ shorter than the Goddess. He will be 5 in February and can’t learn enough. His current passion is learning his letters and the sounds they make. I wouldn’t be surprised if he’s reading before his birthday. He loves art and math and rough housing. I cannot get this kid to sit still or be quiet for more than a few minutes. 4 is a hard age. He understands so much, and can communicate pretty well, but he has so many emotions that they just overwhelm.

His big achievement for the summer is learning how to ride his bike. We went to Burney Falls for my birthday and he spent 75% of the time there riding around the campground.

 

And now for My Smallest. She is the newest edition and wasn’t around the last time I dusted off this thing. She will be 2 in February and is a ball of joy and energy. She’s working hard on picking up words and learning to talk. She adores her big siblings. This kid completes our family in so many ways and is a constant source of giggles and love.

 

JimBob and I are well. We will be celebrating 12 years of marriage next month, having been together for over 14 now. He got a job in San Francisco working as a Internet Security something or other. Haha. He likes it, even with the 2 hour one-way commute. It makes for a long day, but most of the time he is home by 5 pm, so we still have family time.

I’m also doing well. I am busy as ever. Wrangling three kids, 4 cats, 2 dogs and the rest of life is hard. But most days are good days. Like I said earlier, I’m on a super strict diet, but that’s a post for another time. The good news is, I’ve lost 40.9 lbs and plan to continue to lose. My goal is at least 150, so I have a long journey to go! I’ll do my best to hop on here and keep in touch. As I transition back onto food I will start posting recipes again.

Hope you all have been well!

Om nom on!

Tagged: , ,

Leave a comment