Slow Cooker Steakhouse Stuffed Peppers

It’s a new year, and a new me, and blah blah blah. Seriously though, I figured I’d give this blogging thing a new try. With recipes 1-2 times a week and updates on the family and other interesting things that catch my eye the rest of the time. My goal (note how I don’t say resolution) is to write a post 5 of the 7 days a week. WHAT?!?!? Yeah. We’ll see if that happens. Let’s see if I can turn this into a habit that just happens. And so, without further ado, I give you this week’s recipe. Slow Cooker Steakhouse Stuffed Peppers from www.iwashyoudry.com

img_2210

 

Slow Cooker Steakhouse Stuffed Peppers

Prep time: Approximately 15 min or less depending on how quickly you can dismantle the peppers. My kids LOVE bell peppers, so I was having to fight to keep their little paws off. 

Cook time: 4 hours on high or 6-8 on low. We did 4 on high because it’s Jan 1 and I didn’t actually get out of bed until 9:30, not to mention remember I had to put together a slow cooker meal until about 12:30 when JimBob reminded me. 

5 LARGE BELL PEPPERS (any mix of color)

1 lb LEAN GROUND BEEF (ground turkey works well too, but we are starting to add red meat back into our diet, so beef it is)

1/2 cup DICED ONION (I omitted this because I have a very mild allergy to onion, and I don’t feel like starting the new year off on the toilet. Yes, I went there.)

2 tbsp A1 STEAK SAUCE

8 oz TOMATO SAUCE

1 cup COOKED RICE (Do you know hard it is to cook exactly 1 cup of rice???)

SALT and PEPPER to taste

1 cup SHREDDED CHEESE

img_2198

So to start, chop off the top of the peppers and de-seed them. Cut around the stem to save the usable pepper on the tops. Toss the seeds and stems and dice what’s left (keep about 1/2 cup).

img_2199-1

Next, combine the meat, diced peppers, rice, A1 sauce, and tomato sauce (onion if you used it) in a mixing bowl. Stir it up well so it is all blended together and looks like mush.

Stuff that lovely mush into the gutted peppers. You may have a little bit left over, you can mound it up on top of the peppers, or you can fry it up for a tasty snack.

img_2202

Pour about 1/4 cup of water on the bottom of the slow cooker, cover, and start cooking. Once your time is up, put the cheese on top and cook for a few more minutes until melted.

img_2209

There will be a lot of water on the bottom of the cooker, so use a slotted spoon when retrieving your peppers and let them drip dry a little bit. Enjoy!

 

Scoring:

Prep: 5 om noms (out of 5)

This was a rather quick and easy put together. It would have been faster if there weren’t thieving little monsters running about.

Cook: 5 om noms

I do love me a slow cooker meal. It takes time, but I don’t have to hover over it.

Tastiness: 3 om noms

It wasn’t for me. I’m not typically a fan of mushy food, and the peppers were mushy, and the rice was mushy, and the meat was mushy because the rice and peppers were cooked inside with the meat and it all came out to much mush for my preference.

JimBob: 3.5 tasties

I liked it, but I don’t think people who don’t like chile relleno would like it. I also think it’s a hard sell for kids.

Goddess: 3 yummy, that’s good!s

She really didn’t like the mushy peppers. Definitely my daughter. If the peppers were crispier, then she would have been all about this.

Shakespeare: 3 mmmms

He ate this, says he likes it, but it was a bit of a fight to get him to eat.

Once A Week, Every Other Week, Once A Month, Once A Year, or Never Again?

For the Om Nom family, this is a once a month, to once every other month deal. JimBob loved it, but the rest of us prefer crunchier meals.

Om nom on, people!

Tagged: , ,

2 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Steakhouse Stuffed Peppers

  1. Cassie January 4, 2017 at 2:39 AM Reply

    Good luck on the new years resolution! You’ve got one watcher who’s still interested and around. :3

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Om Nom Mom January 4, 2017 at 5:05 PM Reply

      Thank you so much! I’m so glad someone is still reading out there. Hope you have a wonderful 2017!

      Like

Leave a Reply

